#SixForSunday – Books Around The World

What is up my little book nerds and wow it’s been a while since I did a #SixForSunday post. If you didn’t know, #SixForSunday is set up and organised by the lovely Steph at A Little But A Lot; each month there’s a new theme and a new weekly prompt where you have to pick six books, or bookish things, to fulfil the prompt. The March 2021 prompts are themed around the world, and this weeks is six books set somewhere other than where I am (which is Newcastle in England. Lovely place, rubbish weather, very nice accent). So, lets get started…

Only Mostly Devastated – Sophie Gonzales

Only Mostly Devastated is honestly one of my favourite books of all time. Its a gay as heck retelling of Grease, set against the backdrop of a North Carolina high school. Not only is it super cute, but it is SO nostalgic for me because I went to college at UNCW (Go Seahawks!) so the whole thing was just a trip down memory lane. If you like cute, summery, heartbreaking books, this is one for you, just have tissues handy. You can read a full review here.

The Unadoptables – Hana Tooke

Six orphans, each unique, each skilled, and each one completely unadaptable in their own way. Except they aren’t, people in 1800’s Amsterdam were just a bit prejudiced. This tale of found family, adventure, tenacity, and self belief is exactly what you want to read on a cold winters day, and definitely one that brings the atmosphere of Amsterdam to life.

1Q84 – Haruki Murakami

I don’t talk a lot about Adult books on here, but I could honestly wax lyrical about Haruki Murakami’s work for hours and never get tired. 1Q84 was the first I read, and is a trilogy following two people who’s lives have been intertwined, as they find themselves suddenly in a strange, mirror image of Tokyo, where there are mystical forces at play, and two moons in the sky. This is honestly such a gorgeous, descriptive series, you have got to read them.

When Life Gives You Mangoes – Kereen Getten

I read this last year in the summer and, to be honest, I think it was one of the best things I read. Set on a gorgeous Caribbean Island, something happened to Clara last summer, but no-one will tell her what, or why she’s drifting apart from her best friend. If you want an evocative mystery, filled with friendship, hope, and finding yourself when you’re lost, this is the perfect book.

Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow – Benjamin Dean

OK so I don’t know if I’m cheating with this one a little bit since it’s in the same country, but I adored this book so so much. After his parent’s split up, Archie finds out that’s dad is gay and, when he finds a flyer for something called “Pride”, sets off with his two best friends to see if he can fix his family. This is the EXACT kind of book I needed growing up, and you can BET there’s going to be a full review of it coming soon, but until then, just know its great and gives you the complete vibe of London Pride.

The Wolf Wilder – Katherine Rundell

Theres some gorgeous descriptions of old, snowy Russia in this book, centred around a girl whos family re-wild the unwanted Imperial wolves. You get such a sense of what Russia must be like in the bleak, snow blanketed winters, but it never gets you down, theres always a hopeful warmth of family and friendship that keeps you reading and wanting more.

And there we have it! My six books from around the world that I think you should read. What books would you have on the list? Let me know in the comments or on twitter, and I’ll see you in the next one!

2 thoughts on “#SixForSunday – Books Around The World

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started